Kourtney Kardashian can Catch Her Own Baby – So can YOU!

I don’t watch much TV personally, and I certainly don’t keep up with the Kardashians, but when I saw this, I had to share it with you! 

On E!’s season finale of Keeping Up with the Kardashians, Kourtney had CAUGHT her baby!  Cheers to E! for showing this awesome event, that all mothers should be allowed to take part in if they chose! 

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE seeing this kind of thing on TV!  Too often you see the ridiculous running amuck portrayal of “emergency” when a mother’s water breaks on television.  This horrible diet of drama and fear only wrecks women’s perceptions of their bodies and their abilities as women.   But this episode of reality TV showed some actual reality when it comes to having a baby.  

You can watch clips of the episode on Jezebel.com where you can not only see Kourtney bring her own baby out of her vagina, but you can see her calmly shower and apply her make-up after her water breaks and before she heads to the hospital.  No rushing around, no emergency. 

And Kourtney is not the only one.  I believe all women should shower when their labor begins, if possible.  They may not have another chance for a while, and the warm water helps with relaxation and contractions.  I took a shower before giving birth to both of my boys, and with the second, I even applied my make up.  My husband thought I was nuts, but I knew there would be a lot of pictures being snapped, and I wanted to look good!   

Kudos to E! for showing it the actual birth and the leading up to it, and congrats to Kourtney!

What about you?  Did you or do you want to participate like this in your birth?  Did you watch the episode?  What did you think?

One response to “Kourtney Kardashian can Catch Her Own Baby – So can YOU!

  1. I absolutely loved this episode and seeing her catch her baby brought tears to my eyes! I loved how calm and composed she was at home once her water broke – joking and laughing and putting on makeup. It was a much more realistic picture than we normally get to see on TV and that was very refreshing.

    I’m pretty sure she’d had an epidural (not that there’s anything wrong with that) but she was so composed and present in the moment and it was such a joy to hear a doctor suggest that she reach down and catch her baby. I’m hoping to do something similar the next time I have one. Very, very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

