DIY Diaper Sprayer

If you use cloth diapers, eventually you will get a diaper with a sticky poo that just won’t come out without help.  In the past, this would result in sticking your hand in the toilet to swish the diaper around until you liberate the diaper from it’s poopy mess. 

Fortunately, there are people out there with the smarts to make sure there are alternatives to this reality.  Someone invented the Diaper Sprayer. 

Below are some excepts on my original post on a DIY Diaper sprayer from my personal blog.

A diaper sprayer attaches to the water supply on your toilet so you can conveniently spray the poo into the bowl, without getting your hands in the muck.  These usually run about $40 and up, depending on where you get them. While I think $40 is totally worth a sprayer, for the DIY crowd (I am one), there are less expensive alternatives! 

I found a blog with an awesome tutorial (which I see no need to replicate) with good pictures, so I wanted to share the link:  Gidget Goes Home  as well as a great YouTube instructional video on the subject.
 

 

In the video, the man recommends using a ball valve to shut off water to the sprayer when it’s not in use.  I really liked this addition to the recommended tools/parts from Gidget’s blog since I think it will head off and potential for my toddler to use the sprayer to, shall we say, *clean* the bathroom by himself!

The sprayer has great pressure, and the ball valve is already proving it’s worth, since my toddler wants to spray the hose.  It took all of fifteen minutes to install… if that.  All we need now is a hook for the wall next to the toilet to hang the nosle on.

Be sure to visit my homesteading blog, if you want to see pictures of my diaper sprayer.  It works great and is a life saver (or at the very least a hand saver)!

2 responses to “DIY Diaper Sprayer

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Thursday: DIY Diaper Sprayer « Schell Urban Homestead

Leave a Reply

